Started in 1970, the Monroe Housing Commission manages public housing units in the City of Monroe operated and subsidized by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Under its Community Development Block Grants (CDBG), HUD provides federal funding to entitled metropolitan cities and urban counties to meet their housing and community development needs. This program mandates that no less than 70 percent of the funds received must be used for activities that benefit low- and moderate-income persons.

The Monroe Housing Commission operates a total of 293 living units. These units are provided to individuals who meet the minimum eligibility requirements set forth by HUD. Please see the individual property links (River Park Plaza and Greenwood Townhouses) for more information.

All living units and facilities are completely smoke-free and provide residents with independent living options. In addition, the Monroe Housing Commission strives to enhance its residents’ quality of living by offering a variety of educational and recreational programs. The Commission also schedules regular social activities for residents and child-specific programs for families.

The Monroe Housing Commission continually earns the ranking of high performer scores from HUD.  These scores reflect the Commission’s favorable living conditions and excellent customer service. All actions and operations of the Monroe Housing Commission are governed by its Board of Commissioners, whose members are as follow:

Anthony Webb- President
Shelly Vorath- Co Chair
Betti Dickerson
Jeth Ott
Melissa Drake
City of Monroe Liaison – Michelle Germani